The Turks WiBF Leadership Scholarship

*Applications for the 2021 Turks and Women in Banking & Finance (WiBF) Leadership Scholarship have closed**

Turks and Women in Banking & Finance (WiBF) are strong advocates for excellence in the Australian banking and finance industry. Now in its eighth year, the 2021 Turks WiBF Leadership Scholarship is an exciting joint initiative between TurksLegal and WiBF to provide WiBF members with a significant career development opportunity.

Major Prize

The Scholarship Winner will travel to Melbourne to participate in the Women in Leadership Program, a one week course run by the highly esteemed Melbourne Business School at the University of Melbourne. Melbourne Business School is one of just three Australian business schools in the Financial Times’ Global MBA rankings 2020.

This course is designed to develop women with purpose into leaders who have a profound impact in their organisations, communities and wider society. It provides established women leaders with the opportunity to invest in themselves, and transform the way that they lead, influence and innovate in organisations and challenging contexts. The prize includes return flights (for non-Melbourne residents), course fees, materials, meals and accommodation valued at up to AU$11,000.

Application Process

Applications for the 2021 Turks WiBF Leadership Scholarship open on Tuesday 10th August 2021 and close at 5pm AEST Tuesday, 21 September 2021.

To apply for the scholarship, members will need to prepare a brief essay response to a question provided prior to each annual scholarship launch, submitted through the Member Dashboard.

Question 1

Where should the banking and finance sector be prioritising Environmental Social and Governance (ESG) efforts, and how would you engage with your staff and other stakeholders on this subject?

Question 2 

As CEO of an organisation (not your current employer) operating in the banking and finance sector, how would you apply key lessons/lived experiences from the pandemic to inspire hybrid workers and inform the future of work in your organisation?

Consideration will be given to the clarity and intent of responses, within the 3,500 character limit (including spaces), as well as responses to questions pertaining to the applicant’s experience and passions within the banking and finance sector.

View the 2021 Turks WiBF Leadership Scholarship flyer and Terms & Conditions here

Be inspired and get some handy tips for your application from past winners of the Turks WiBF Scholarship:

Hear from the 2019 Scholarship winner, Rowena Rees-Poole from Commonwealth Bank:

Watch our interviews to find out more with the 2018 Scholarship winner, Michelle Erdosi, 2017 winner, Deborah Beeck or 2016 winner, Emily Smith.

2021 Scholarship Judging Panel

The 2021 judging panel comprised the following senior industry leaders:

  • Sally Auld, Chief Investment Officer, JBWere
  • Fiona Lawrence, Group Risk, General Manager, Compliance, Bank of Queensland
  • Belinda McGuinness, Executive Director, Group Integrity Officer, Macquarie Group
  • Julie Hunter, Managing Director, Banks and Government Client Solutions, CBA and WiBF President
  • Jen Dalitz, Chief Executive Officer, WiBF
  • Kiri Brain, Chief Executive Officer, TurksLegal
  • David McCrostie, Partner, Head of Banking, TurksLegal


2021 Turks WiBF Leadership Scholarship applications open on Tuesday 10th August 2021, and close at 5pm AEST Tuesday, 21 September 2021.

Who can Enter

The Scholarship is open to all current financial Individual Members of WiBF or employees of a WiBF corporate member. Entrants must work in the Banking and Finance industry. Applicants should have a minimum of 7 years experience working in a banking or financial organisation and be keen to take the next step in their career. The scholarship particularly invites applicants with demonstrated leadership experience and a commitment to creating positive change for future women leaders in the banking and financial services sector.

Application Criteria

Applicants must complete the online form via the WiBF website providing:

We acknowledge past winners of the Turks WiBF Leadership Scholarship:

2020: Katrina Francis, Toyota Finance Australia
2019: Rowena Rees-Poole, Commonwealth Bank
2018: Michelle Erdosi, Bank of Queensland
2017: Deborah Beeck, ANZ
2016: Emily Smith, Deutsche Bank
2015: Kate Birchall, NAB
2014: Kristeen Adam-Smith, Westpac

WiBF members will receive advance notice of the 2021 Turks WiBF Leadership Scholarship application process and key dates. Subscribe to our newsletter to be notified.

Are you a member? Login now
Not a member? Join WiBF